Integration with Dropbox is primarily designed to give each user an offline space to share their 4th Office documents to. This then allows users to access the 4th Office files from within Dropbox when not connected to the internet.
Summary of functionality
- Documents in the 4th Office can be pushed to your Dropbox folder.
- Documents placed in a specific folder in Dropbox will be pushed to the 4th Office.
- Documents will then stay synchronised. If a change is made to the document in the 4th Office, this will update the Dropbox copy. If an update is made in Dropbox, this will update the 4th Office copy.
- When Dropbox is integrated, all your documents are not automatically pushed into the 4th Office. For this to happen, they must be moved into the specially created Apps > 4th Office folder.
- Folder structures from Dropbox are not automatically replicated in the 4th Office.
Connecting your Dropbox account to the 4th Office
- Folder structures from the 4th Office are not automatically replicated in Dropbox.
Navigate to Settings > Your Apps > Link it (next to DropBox)
You will be asked if you wish to link your Dropbox account. Click 'Allow'
You will be taken to Dropbox.com and asked if you wish to link your account. If you are not yet already logged into Dropbox you will first be asked to enter your Dropbox credentials. Click 'Allow'
Synchronisation from the 4th Office to Dropbox
To synchronise a file from the 4th Office to Dropbox navigate to the document and click share. Type 'Dropbox' and you will be presented with the option to select your Dropbox account.
Click 'Share'. Within a few minutes the file will be synchronised to the Apps > 4th Office folder in your Dropbox account.
You can add a document to your DropBox account by selecting the document(s) from the Drive view, clicking 'Share' and typing in 'Dropbox'
Synchronisation from Dropbox to the 4th Office
To synchronise a file from Dropbox to the 4th Office save or copy the file to the Apps > 4th Office folder in your Dropbox account
Within a few minutes, providing you are connected to the internet, your document will appear in the 4th Office. The document will appear on your feed, but you can also navigate to the Documents view and click the Dropbox icon to see all of your files from your Apps > 4th Office folder.
Any synchronised documents will be private to you until you share them to others.
You can copy an entire folder of documents to Apps > 4th Office and all of them will be imported into the 4th Office. Please be aware that the folder itself will not be replicated in the 4th Office.
Deleted & unshared files
If you un-share a document from Dropbox within the 4th Office it will be deleted from your Dropbox account. If you delete a file from the 4th Office which is synchronised to your Dropbox, it will be deleted from your Dropbox account.
If you delete a document from your Dropbox that is synchronised to the 4th Office it will remain in the 4th Office, but will no longer be shown in your Dropbox section.
If the 4th Office detects a conflict of a document held in Dropbox and the 4th Office it will allow you to select which version of the document should be kept. It is your responsibility to merge or copy the necessary changes from both documents into the latest version if needed.
Frequently asked Questions
Q:Where do documents placed in the ‘Apps > 4th Office’ folder in my Dropbox appear in the 4th Office?
A: Initially they will appear within your Drive, under the Dropbox section. From here you can share them to other parts of the 4th Office.
Q: Do synchronised documents exist both in Dropbox and in the 4th Office?
A: Yes. A document pushed from the 4th Office to Dropbox - or vice versa - then exists in two places.
Q: Can another user synchronise a document to their Dropbox if they are not the document owner?
A: Yes. If you have access to a document, you are able to synchronise it to your Dropbox.
Q: If the document is updated in the 4th Office, will that update the copy held in my Dropbox?
A: Yes it will - regardless of who made the change, you or another user.
Q: Can I drag existing folders in my Dropbox into the ‘Apps > 4th Office’ folder to synchronise content into the 4th Office?
A: Yes you can. Even if those documents are in folders and subfolders, they will be synchronised across to the 4th Office. Please note the folders themselves will not be replicated in the 4th Office.
Q: Can I still have folders and subfolders in my ‘Apps > 4th Office’ folder in Dropbox, and file documents accordingly?
A: Yes you can. However these folders will not be replicated within the 4th Office.
Q: If I delete a document from Dropbox, or remove it from the ‘Apps > 4th Office’ folder in Dropbox, what happens to the file in the 4th Office?
A: It is removed from your 'Dropbox Drive' in the 4th Office
Q: Will the existing Dropbox sharing permissions of those folders be retained?
A: No. Unfortunately Dropbox do not allow subfolders to be shared with other Dropbox users.